Bonsai Apprenticeship, minus the Suffering

Just wanted to pass this information on to the readers.  I talked to Mr. Tanaka about how many people in the US would love to become an apprentice, but are limited in time and not able to commit to a five year apprenticeship.  After about a month of discussion, we decided to put together a short apprenticeship program for those that want to experience the Bonsai life first hand.  I knew I had to help in making this happen because when I asked Mr. Tanaka why he was charging so little for the program, he said, “I just want to continue to spread Bonsai to the rest of the world.”  I was sold!  The nice thing about this program is that Mr. Tanaka speak some English and the work schedule is as flexible as you’d like. I will also be there to get participants settled in and aid in their Bonsai studies.

If you’d like more information about the program please visit the following link:

 BonsaiAichien.com

If you have any questions, feel free to email me at Peter@PeterTeaBonsai.com

Thanks for reading.

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Bonsai Apprenticeship, minus the Suffering

  1. […] Apprenticeship minus the suffering From Peter Tea’s blog: “Just wanted to pass this information on to the readers.  I talked to Mr. Tanaka about how […]

  2. Lucy Sakaishi-Judd says:

    Peter-san! I am extending your blog and this info to the Granite Bay Hi Bonsai Club, which has started up again after 3 years of my retirement. We have a meeting today, since I am substituting! Good stuff!

  3. jeremiah lee says:

    I hope to come learn from you and Mr. Tanaka in the future. I really appreciate both of you coming together to create this program. What an incredible opportunity!

  4. Steve Iwaki says:

    Peter, GREAT program! With working here in the states to make a living, I find it difficult leaving my family and financial obligations for 4 or 5 years to participate in a traditional apprenticeship program. With what you have started, allows someone like me to get a taste of what you’re learning, while keeping my day job🙂 I feel energized and passionate about participating, just got to figure out when. You’re doing great things for us passionate about bonsai!!!!

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for reading the blog! We’re getting some great response for this program and I’m excited to get people involved and learn some new things. Thanks for the kind words. Take care and thanks for commenting.

  5. Lonnie says:

    Yes, I’m already trying to figure out how and when, It won’t be in the near term, but I’m sure I will be signing up! I really hope this becomes a very successful program, it really is a unique opportunity.

  6. Lonnie says:

    Man this is so awesome!!!! A new (as far as I know) way for us all to lean from masters. Peter, you and Mr. Tanaka are opening doors and I hope that one day I may be able to join in on the fun!! Did I say how awesome this is? Awesome!!!

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Lonnie,

      Thanks for reading the blog! I would hope that you can make it here one day and be around bonsai for 24/7. It’s a great experience. I think you’d enjoy it very much. From your awesome comment, it seems like you already are. ;o) Take care man!

  7. Frank Cucchiara says:

    I tip my hat to Mr. Tanaka to offer such a great Program for students. I think you played a big part in his decision to do so.
    Now you have to stop saying how hot it is in July and August otherwise you never see any students there that time of year .

  8. hi peter
    can you provide more info. and pics of the pine tree that is pictured being repotted.

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Art,

      Unfortunately that is the only picture I have of the White Pine, but I can give you some info on it. The man working on it is a professional here named Ken Fujiwara and the tree was featured last year in a Kinbon Bonsai Magazine article. This picture was taken in April I believe. The cool part about this tree is the bend that was done. The main branch is about 4 inches thick and a big wedge was cut out so that the branch could be bent down. I saw a picture of the wedge and you’d think the entire branch would die. Ken Fujiwara bent it down and it’s now healing well. Not a single branch died. Very impressive stuff. I’ll try to get some pictures of the tree in the future and perhaps write a post about it. Thanks for the question Art and thanks for reading the blog. Take care.

  9. WOW! This is an exciting development…now if I was just a bit younger…..

Comments are closed.

