Randomness of Daily Life

Randomness of Daily Life

Within a week, we had three birthdays at Aichi-en. Aiki (center/oldest)March 30th, Yoshiki (right/middle) April 4th, Hiyu (left/youngest) April 6th.  Here is a shot of all three of Mr. Tanaka’s kids together for Aiki’s Birthday.

Since the last couple of post I’ve wrote as been pretty heavy on Bonsai, I thought I’d lighten it up this time around.  As I scrolled through the photos I’ve taken this last month, I’ve decided to pool some of the random ones out and share them with you.  Also, I’ll touch upon some of the things I did during, “Golden Week,” in Japan, plus a little R&R time with a customer.

Golden Week

Golden Week happens every year in Japan and is pretty much a group of holidays lumped together into about 9 days during the end of April and the beginning of May.  This is also the time of year where many workers get paid vacation or at least take it a little easy.  I was sitting in the workshop when Mr. Tanaka pointed out the Golden Week dates, then quickly added that Golden Week is meaningless to Bonsai professionals because we work everyday (awwww…).  If you would like to know a bit more details about Golden Week in general you can click here to visit our good friends at Wikipedia.  Here are some of the things I did during that week.

The first thing I did during Golden Week was clean up the walkway!  Mr. Tanaka laid out this stone path about 3 years ago and now wants to add cement to fill in the gaps.  In the gaps were a variety of small rocks/dirt and weeds.  I was on hands and knees cleaning the gaps out in preparation for the cementing.

With the help of an air compressor, I got the walkway nice and clean!

We then took the K-trunk to the hardware store and picked up some dry cement.  I would have to say that no matter how hard or dirty the work is, Mr. Tanaka is always there working just as hard as I am.

It’s time for work!

Here’s Mr. Tanaka slowly adding in the cement.  He started on one end and I started on the other end.

Once we got the cement into the gaps, we thoroughly washed the walkway with water to remove the excess cement and solidify the remaining cement.  Here’s what the walkway looked like after it dried a bit.  Now it’s nice and clean and we don’t have to worry about weeds growing there anymore!  I guess it’s really a plus for me.  ;o)

The following day we set up this pole and flag.  The pole itself is about 7 meters long.  The last day of Golden Week is Children’s Day and it’s customary to put up these fish flags.  The top flag is just a colorful design flag whereas the lower three flags represents the father, mother and children. (I must have stood there for 15 minutes looking up at the flags waiting for the wind to catch it just right to get this photo)  We had this pole up for about two more weeks after.

The kids love getting their pictures taken so I got a shot of them with the flags.  The kid holding the toy gun is actually the neighbor’s kid.

I then proceeded to walk around the yard taking random pictures of things.  Here’s a Crab Apple in bloom.

Not sure of the name of this plant but I think it’s an orchid of some kind.  It was blooming as well.

This is a large ceramic turtle that is positioned along the stone walkway.  I looked down at it and it looked up at me and we felt connected for a few seconds.  Kind of like when you look at someone and you can tell they’re thinking the same thing as you are?  For me and the turtle it was, “we’re going to be here for awhile…”

All the Five needle pines are pushing new candles and needles.

One of Hawthorns we have that’s flowering.  WOW!

Of course, as I was walking around, the kids were playing and they wanted their pictures taken.  Here’s Hiyu and the neighbor.

More work!

Here at Aichi-en, May is the time to defoliate our maples.  Here’s Mr. Tanaka defoliating a large multi trunk Japanese Maple.  Normally we cut off the large leaves and one leaf from a pair of leaves.  Sometimes I forget how big some of the trees are seeing them outside .  Once they’re in the workshop, is when I realize just how big they are.

Here’s the same tree last Fall.

As I was defoliating a Trident Maple, this lizard jumped out and tried to Bite Me!  Well, not really, it just came out and looked at me.  I guess it was wondering what all the commotion was about. Amazingly, the lizard stayed in the tree during the whole defoliation.  When I put the tree back on the bench, the lizard was still in it!  Perhaps it’s use to seeing me all the time.  On Trident maples, we normally defoliate every leaf that is on the exterior of the tree.

Antique Show

One Saturday morning I was sitting in the workshop drinking a cup of coffee when Mr. Tanaka walks in and says, “Let’s go!”  I quickly got up to leave and it turns out we were going to a big annual antique show.  For those that recognize the building, it’s the same building that Meifu-ten is held in.

For those that like to look at Antiques and random things, this was a great place to be.  Here was a booth that sold scrolls and porcelain ceramics.

Here’s Mr. Tanaka checking out the scrolls.

Mr. Tanaka likes to go to these shows because sometimes we find Bonsai related items.  Unfortunately, this booth had nothing we were looking for.  See anything you like?

I noticed there was lots of ceramics for sale.  Not much in the Bonsai area though.

Lots to see!

What’s a antique show without someone selling old currency.

During the show, we met up with Mr. Fujiwara and his customer Mr. Tomomatsu.  Here they’re checking out the finer things in life.

What’s A Monkey Park?

During the last days of Golden week, I was sitting with Mr. Tanaka during Breakfast just like any other day and he says, “Today we’re taking the children to the Monkey park and you’re coming too.”  I was like, “um… What’s a monkey park?”

It turns out it’s a childrens theme park that is half primate preserve and half amusement park.

Here are some monkeys sleeping.  I can use some sleep like that…

I don’t need to know how to read Japanese to know what this means…

Now this sign, required a little bit more explanation.  Hahaha!  It turns out that there was a bridge for monkeys to cross right above this sign.  Watch out for monkey poop falling from the sky!

Of course there would be a turtle at a Monkey Park.  It didn’t really do much.  Now that’s a mellow and relaxed life.  That’s probably why they live so long.  I wouldn’t mind being a turtle.

Mr. Tanaka and the kids.

That’s Asami (Mr. Tanaka’s wife) and Hiyu on a ride.

It’s Not Always Bonsai Work with the Customer, Though it is Still Work

Mr. Fujiwara’s customer, Mr. Tomomatsu invited us all to go fishing last week!

In Japan, sometimes the customer will invite us out to do different thing from a evening dinner to a special activity such as fishing.  It’s sort of their way of saying thank you for all the work we’ve done for them.  It doesn’t stop there though, because there’s a much deeper meaning to the invite.  It’s a combination of friendship and their feelings of obligation to take care of the bonsai artist that makes Bonsai available to the public.  This was Mr. Tomomatsu’s way of supporting the art community and motivating us to continue what we do.  It’s sort of a support your local art program type of thing.

Since invitations from customers have such a deep meaning, we as proffessionals (and apprentices) have an obligation to accept and to enjoy what the customer is giving us.  When the customer sees that we’re having a good time, they are even more satisfied and happy.

So Mr. Tanaka and I got up at 3am, and by 5:30am we were out in the open seas fishing with Mr. Tomomatsu, Mr. Fujiwara and Mr. Tanaka (the weekday helper at Aichien).

This is one of the rare times where I get to wear my sunglasses in Japan.  Just about nobody in Japan wears sunglasses.  Apprentices especially can’t wear them because it makes them too, “cool,” as Mr. Tanaka would put it.  Here’s me in action!  Turns out I just got my hook snagged on something.  For awhile there, I thought I got something big!

This was our bait.  I’ve never used shrimp as bait before.

Here’s Mr. Fujiwara with his big catch!

Mr. Tanaka with one of his catches!  Hahaha!  It turns out that Mr. Tanaka ended up catching the most fish that day.

Here’s Mr. Tanaka (Aichi-en helper) with one of his catch.  It’s a halibut!  He later told us that he made sashimi out of it and that it tasted really good.  That was the only halibut caught that day.

Here’s Mr. Tomomatsu with one his catches!

Unbeknownst to me at the time, this Red Sea Bream was to be the only fish I caught that day.  Interesting fact about this fish is that it is  a prized fish in Japan.  It is normally served at celebrations and festive occasions.  It was a little late in the season to catch these fish but I guess I was lucky.

Well, after about 8 hours of fishing, these were all the fish we caught (I say we loosely since I did only caught one fish).  As you can imagine, there was a lot of fish lunches and dinners in the following days.  Mostly, sashimi which was great!  It was a good day.

This cat that was hanging close to the dock was eyeing our fishes.

Well, there you have it.  A little bit more of the things I’m doing in Japan.  It’s mostly work for sure but we get to have fun here and there.  Thanks for coming along for the ride!

I’ll end this post with this photo of Mr. Tanakas pot.  One of the highest quality Japanese Antique pots I’ve seen so far.  It also has a great deal of patina on it as well (the pot is actually red).  Mr. Tanaka commented that, “this pot is almost too good to sell!”  Hahaha, almost…

Thanks for reading.

P.S. If you are actively reading this blog, I would appreciate it if you subscribe to it (right column of the blog).  This is one of the best ways for me to know how many people are reading.  Thanks!

Tagged , ,

23 thoughts on “Randomness of Daily Life

  1. Bill Cadman says:

    You’re right, the flowering plant is an orchid, probably Dendrobium moniliforme.

  2. Michael Markoff says:

    Peter, When I read about washing the walkway and cementing it, I could only thInk < "Wax on, Wax off" LoL

  3. somchee says:

    Hi Peter, I feel so fortunate to have a have teacher like you. You must be busy again. The patina on the pot…. would you elaborate on how to improve our pots?How does a red pot become that color with patina. The pot is empty now but does it need a plant and being outdoors to develop patina. How long does it take to get something like that….hundreds of years? Does burying it in the ground help?

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Somchee,

      Thanks for the kind words! I will be posting more about ceramics in the future and I’ll talk more about patina at that time as well.

      I wrote a post about patina in the past. If you haven’t seen it, follow this link below. In the future I will continue to talk more about it and perhaps some tricks to developing it. I plan on writing more post on ceramics soon.

      https://peterteabonsai.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/pots-and-patina/

      Thanks and take care!

  4. Adam says:

    Omedetai on your catch!!!

  5. cherylas2009 says:

    Interesting post on Japanese life. No fishermen in Wisconsin turn their fresh catch into sushi that I no of. I am curious about the pot. How do you know this pot is high quality? How do you know that it is old? This whole antique pot thing perplexes me.

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Cheryl,

      I will be writing more post soon about specific types of ceramics, them being chinese(new/old), japanese, and so forth. Hopefully I can compile enough post about many of them to give everyone a basic idea of how to identify one from the other such as clay type, shape, size, design, and quality.

      Thanks!

  6. Great post Peter, thanks – it’s nice to see the gang in action. Mr. Tanaka looks like a pro with that halibut!

  7. Barry Dixon says:

    This really is a fantastic blog and as Chris said it,s good to see Japanese life and culture from a different perspective
    Those Maples looked like monsters🙂

  8. I didn’t think the Apple was crap…but it certainly made me smile.

  9. Dave Williams says:

    Your pretty cool Peter…..even without the sunglasses! Now back to work!

  10. Muriel Rhea says:

    Thank you for the look at other aspects of your apprenticeship, Peter! I enjoyed the pictures.

  11. yenling29 says:

    enjoyed that post very much! It’s fun to see all the other stuff your doing besides just working. thanks

  12. marcuswatts100 says:

    hi Peter,
    how does patina differ from dirt, algae and grime? – if you need to wash the algae and grime will the patina be removed as well? Interesting post as always – that is a big maple ! very nice.

    cheers

  13. somchee says:

    Hi Peter, As always you are wonderful. I so look forward to you blogs and photos to learn about Japan and Bonsai. Would you post a photo of the maple after defoliation and maybe the next blog talk about that more. Also please explain how the patina is formed on an empty pot?

    • Peter Tea says:

      Hi Somchee,

      I will be writing a post about defoliating Japanese maples in the near future. The window to do them is early to mid Summer. Stay tuned!

      Thanks and take care!

  14. Penny Pawl says:

    Those little boys are so cute in front of their cake and candles. How nice it must be to share in their everyday and special days too

  15. Chris Glanton says:

    Glad you’re having some fun now and then Peter! And it’s cool getting pictures of ordinary Japanese culture and activities. Thanks for sharing Peter!

Comments are closed.

