Thank you all for your comments on the last post I wrote about a Western Juniper that’s waiting for me back home. It made me realize that I should have wrote about why I chose the front that I did. So I went back into the post and updated it with a section at the end of my reasons and also a look at the two other common choices that the readers had. Thanks for visiting again everyone! Take care and I hope the update helps.

Peter Tea Bonsai

A Western Juniper Awaits

western-6Front?

The last time I was in California was September of 2012 and during that time I got a chance to reunite not with just family and friends but with my trees!  One of them being this collected Western Juniper pictured above.  Since my time home wasn’t very long, I decide to hold off on the structural work and focused more on the roots.  Since Fall is a good time to repot Junipers in California, I decided to do just that.  This is by no means a post about repotting, but more of a way for me to share some of the up and coming projects I have when I return home in June.  In this post, I’m simply going to share some before and after photos of the tree in its new home and some basic information about the characteristics of Western Junipers.  I plan…

View original post 2,006 more words

One thought on “

  1. Ray says:

    Hi Peter, really enjoy your site. it’s a great looking tree. did you put in pure pumice to encourage root growth? Also have you ever had any Bonsai that were really short of a root mass and how did you save them?

Comments are closed.

